23 - 27 October 2024


International Competition Results

1st place – New Dublin Voices, Ireland – 94.3%
2nd place – Côrdyyd, Wales – 91.8%
3rd place – Voices of Hope, England – 90.6%
4th place – Coro Giovanile Regionale Del Friuli Venezia Giulia, Italy – 89.1%
5th place – Solheimkoret, Norway – 84.2%
6th place – Coral Brasíliam Brazil – 82.3%
7th place – Coro Feminino Do Vale Do Sousa, Portgual – 83.5% (minus 2% for time penalty)


National Competition Results

Female Voice
1st place – Dulciana Vocal Ensemble, Dublin – 92.5%
2nd place – Melica, Derry – 90.0%

Male Voice
1st place – Strabane Chamber Choir, Tyrone – 87.1%
2nd place – Portadown Male Voice Choir, Armagh – 84.5%

Mixed Voice
1st place – Octavoce, Edinburgh – 90.9%
Joint 2nd place – UCC Singers, Cork and Continuum Youth Choir, Dublin – 90%

Pop, Jazz & Gospel
1st place – Continuum Youth Choir, Dublin – 90.8%
2nd place – Octavoce, Edinburgh – 90.7%

Sacred Music
1st place – Continuum Youth Choir, Dublin – 90.0%
2nd place – Codetta Youth Choir, Derry – 89.1%

Vocal Ensemble
1st place – The Codettes, Derry – 90.9%
2nd place – Octavoce, Edinburgh – 90.1%

Youth Choir
Joint 1st place – Belfast Philharmonic Youth Choir, Belfast and Codetta Youth Choir, Derry – 92.0%


School Competition Results

Primary School Unison 
1st place – Holy Family Primary School, Omagh – 87.63%

Primary School Partsong 
1st place – Nazareth House Primary School, Derry – 85.0%

Post-Primary School Unison/2-Part 
1st place – Thornhill College Junior Choir, Derry – 91.3%
2nd place – St. Mary’s College, Derry – 91.0%

Post-Primary School 3/4-Part 
1st place – Thornhill College Senior Choir, Derry – 91.1%
2nd place  – Holy Cross College Chamber Choir, Strabane – 90.0%


Special Awards

Bernadette Kelly Memorial Award for most promising school choir – North Belfast Youth Choir (conductor Katrina Brown)

Bishops Daly & Mehaffey Award, presented by the Inner City Trust, for an outstanding performance in the school competitions – Ardnashee School and College (conductor Brid Cutliffe)

Sing Ireland Conducting Scholarship for the most promising conductor in the national competitions or a participant in the conducting masterclasses – Margaret Ross (conductor Codetta Youth and Junior Choirs)

Contemporary Music Centre Award for the best performance of a piece by a composer from Ireland – Coro Giovanile Regionale Del Friuli Venezia Giulia, Italy, for their performance of A Nywe Werk by Seán Doherty

Derry City and Strabane District Council Award for outstanding contribution to the festival – Siobhan Heaney (conductor of various community choirs in the Every Voice Community Programme)

Bishop’s Gate Hotel Award for an outstanding performance of a work composed before 1750 in the International Competition -Côrdydd, Wales, for their performance of Olà! O che bon eccho by Orlande de Lassus

City Hotel Award for the conductor of the most interesting and varied programme in the International Competition – Simon Davies-Fidler (Voices of Hope, England)

Visit Derry Award for an outstanding competitive or non-competitive performance by a visiting national or international choir – Solheimkoret, Norway, for their performance of Fields of Athenry at An Cultúrlann as part of the Every Voice Community Programme

Airporter Award in recognition of an exceptional contribution to the festival made by a first-time participant – Beckmann Foundation Choir, Tequila, Mexico